Writer’s Quote Wednesday-Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

To-be-yourself-in-a

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

I dedicate the above quote to my pensive mood today , as you already know I am a self-obsessed person, why to be so harsh on self-judgment? Because I write everything related to the inner self, heart, soul and self-journey 🙂

Jokes apart I do admit sometimes I get lost in my own thoughts so much to the limit that another person might feel ignored or not cared. I am still learning to balance this Selfishness of mine.

Love this quote from Emerson. It is a great accomplishment indeed to be ‘Yourself’, but what is it, being myself ? , I am already adjusted twisted adapted so much, I hardly have any thought of being myself. Life is changing me everyday and I am constantly learning  but what is it that resonates from inside with this quote? Perhaps I would see it as not giving in to the peer or social pressures to anything which doesn’t abide with my morals and principles.

If everyone is doing it, doesn’t mean  you have to do it too or it is good for you as well, if you don’t like it, you don’t like it, that’s it .You just to need to say it. It all makes things so much easy instead of giving in to pressure of people and then regretting it from inside.

It is also a cultural issue in India where saying NO is almost a sin thus makes life more difficult, I am always struggling to find a way to politely refuse the answers of personal questions so normally asked or the favours asked which doesn’t fit into apt category or invitation for things I am not interested in or the talks that are of my least interest. I always try my best not to offend the other party  but on other hand I see people doing all sort of weird stuff , also being rude to others and then  labelling it with  ‘Be Yourself ‘ and quoting with it such great quotes. I wonder what would be the reaction of   Emersion to such misuse of his quote 🙂 or it might be other way round too if my interpretation is totally wrong! 😛

in Response to weekly Quotes Sharing at SilverThreading.com

 http://silverthreading.com/2015/05/06/writers-quote-wednesday-the-buddha/

 

23 thoughts on “Writer’s Quote Wednesday-Ralph Waldo Emerson

  1. I can imagine how hard it is to go against cultural norms and still find a way to retain your identity and “be yourself.” The balance is always hard to maintain. Somehow, I know you will find a way to balance these things in your life. An excellent quote and a great discussion of how it fits in your life! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  2. How true right? There’s this double standard in society. They tell us to be ourselves and at the same time they say no, not like that.
    It gets hard to be true to who we are in those situations, but at the same time Allah says that you make the intention and I’m the one that’ll help. So, I think we can leave all our hardships to Allah, and just be true to ourselves and Him. He will take care of all the hardships and troubles, Insha Allah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the way you engage with your chosen quotes …as a coindence, I just read another blogger say that one must always say no and not stall..I think there is more to it than that and you have shown how yes and no is not necessarily an instant knowledge or response.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. hehe, there should be an edit for comments too 🙂 Thanks Janice for your valuable comment and insight, I think this is a collective intelligence we are building here from reading and reflective on different blogs in wordpress.It doesn’t matter the no or yes but also how we say it and convey it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I prefer saying a ‘no’ with conviction rather than half-hearted ‘yes’. Sometimes, we may second it with fun or laughter to ease it out, or let the ice to thaw and patch-up. People begin loving you for being yourself. There are surely some great men around who label me rude or arrogant. To be safe, I rarely say ‘no’ to women 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha 🙂 Nice to know that , I get the labels too sometime , of being blunt and straightforward but when it comes to relatives ,it is hard to say them a straight no, but still try my best not to be rude and still keep my point.

      Like

  5. Pingback: #Writer’s Quote Wednesday & #BeWoW – The Weekly Wrap-Up from 1/6/16 – Silver Threading

Leave a Reply

