Sunset

Sunsets always make me nostalgic and pensive as I look at the magnificent sky and its mesmerising colours. I haven’t written a poem for almost 5 years now, I was never a regular writer but every now and then I would pick a pen and paper and write a poem since my childhood. Later when I grew up and read them, they seemed so childish and foolish. There were some nice poems too of my teenage years and early twenties but one thing was common, they were all sad. Reading them was revisiting my past and return of pain as well. Slowly I stopped reading my poems later any poem and eventually gave up writing too. Since then five years have already passed.

Last year I created my blog without having any slightest intention of coming back to poetry; it was to express my thoughts on so many social issues and stereotypes. I started following so many of you who write exceptionally good poetry. Reading their work has reignited the old dead flames. The words started talking to me and my hands were seeking paper and pen. I kept resisting but you see here I am πŸ™‚

My first one after the long break,

I watched the shades on canvas

As the painter paints His sky.

Here goes the giant brush

To paint all blue,

Β Then a wave of red

With some yellow strokes

and voila,

Β It looks redder today!

Soon the black curtain

of night is pulled over

And the magic ends.

Only to wait for next painting

Until the next sunset.

 

IMG-20150930-WA0001IMG_20150916_210118IMG-20150930-WA0004IMG-20151108-WA0007IMG-20151108-WA0011

 

37 thoughts on “Sunset

  1. Very nice. .. the last two lines could have been slightly different, but then that is my opinion πŸ™‚
    (For example, something like “the blank canvas awaits the next painting, And the next sunset” or “Only to wait for the next painting, AND the next sunset”) … nah, never mind, I am so far removed from poetry, that it would sound altogether wrong… .. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha.. nah… I am an atheist remember…??
        I would write something like.. hmm..

        Why do you kill thy creations, Master Painter?
        The Day in White that begins full of Yellow Half-fearful Hope,
        The Blue that seeps in your canvas to cheer gloomy souls,
        Bound together by the hues of fluffy cotton white,
        Alas, remains for a brief while before you regret
        Today’s creation, blushing red in your indignation,
        And then the Black of your Anger erases it all.
        Diamond tears fill your canvas, glistening in the night
        Looking down upon us, Your other creations,
        Who live just as ephemerally, just as precariously,
        So that You may redo what You thought was flawed,
        But which is creation nonetheless and yet,
        You do not hesitate to begin again Tomorrow.
        Why do you kill thy creations, Master Painter?

        Argghhh… forgive me.. Don’t mean to sound contrary ….
        Nice poem, Sana..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nah, never mind.. if you have read my blogs you will know how much I dislike modern poetry πŸ™‚
        Just thought about being a believer and the kafir mind imagined it all… and still managed to convey a kafir’s message hahaha… never mind.. sorry to intrude on your post…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am seriously so happy! πŸ˜€
    You didn’t write a lovely poem :p you wrote a VERY lovely poem! ❀
    We shouldn't give up on writing.Trust me I've had the same feeling when I read my old poems or post my old poems.With the help of encouragement and will power we can and we will get better at mastering the art of writing. ^^' In sha Allah.
    Topped it with SUCH ahmazing pics! MashaAllah MashaAllah… and you say you like 'my' photography skills. Pahah. πŸ˜„ You're so much better at this.MashaAllah! I like all the pictures. πŸ™‚
    Do keep holding that pen and painting those poems.Will be waiting for more.Just so you know I'm not patient. πŸ™„

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Same feeling I have about my poetry. I started late, without any training and they are often sad. I guess our inspiration comes from sadness. I loved the poem, Khansana. The images helped to visualize it but I would have visualized it all the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m quite a similar case, stopped writing about 5 years ago when I had to choose between my long term dreams and short term fantasies. After 4 years of materialistic college life, I lost myself and now I’m back to writing stuff ( can’t call it poetry or anything yet) to get my ‘self’ back πŸ™‚ your poem is really beautiful and inspiring!! So is your photography πŸ™‚ I’ll be visiting again.. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks you so much Aishah for visting my blog. I am glad that we share common interests, my blog was also for the same reason, I was feeling lost and not expressing the thoughts piling up in my brain was weighing me down , I found great bloggers here and I love sharing my thoughts and reading theirs πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Did you take those pictures? My the view is stunning! 😍 I can see why you had to write a poem on it. Trust me when I say, my first poems are tucked away in a corner of my cupboard to not be revisited. I would love to read more of your poems, the more we write ,the more we get better at it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh this was so good! Why did you ever give it up?
    It happens with me sometimes when I read a few old poems. I begin to think I should give up poetry altogether but naaah. Why give it up when so many people love it?
    They’re relatable you know? Even if they’re sad. So it’s kinda uplifting of people read your sad poems and tell you they’ve been through it.
    Anyhow, such an amazing poem. Also the pictures of sunsets. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

