Dialogue Tags, Action Beats, and The Dialogue Comma.

Great advice for all my blogger friends who write regularly fiction or non fiction. This post from Ronovan will help you  think how to maintain the flow in story and avoid the monotony .

ronovanwrites

As some of you know, I host a Fiction writing challenge on Fridays here on Ronovan Writes. It’s funny how I use Ronovan Writes as if it’s not me. Sometimes I shorten it to RW. That has nothing to do with this article, merely an aside.

Dialogue Tags and More by Ronovan Hester



One of the goals of the Friday Fiction with Ronovan Writes is to improve the writing of those who participate. At the moment my goal with the challenge is to encourage the improvement of the basics of writing Fiction. Some problems I see, not just in a few challenge entries, but in books I review, are the use of Dialogue Tags, Action Beats, and Dialogue Punctuation. Also today I’ll introduce some of you to Grammarly.

This piece today is not just for those doing the challenge. This is for anyone who:

  • Writes.
  • Writes short stories
  • Writes novellas, or novels.

What…

View original post 1,360 more words

3 thoughts on “Dialogue Tags, Action Beats, and The Dialogue Comma.

  1. I liked this article too and I don’t write fiction–although I am curious about the craft. All bloggers may be interested in the grammar checker links Ronovan provides at the end of the post. I downloaded a checker.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

