The Lunch Saga

Yesterday while doing our kitchen chores before going to bed , I was at my usual  best to bore my husband with daily blabbers of what happened during the day and so on. He looked amused for a change ! so I have saved the story for you as well .   As you already know it is  an achievement for me  to warm up the food during lunch hours  at the office microwave , my husband has already proposed that I take our microwave from home and put it in the office 😀 , I will save some time and my mood too   .

I am standing in the queue at microwave, there is an Indian guy ( very serious looking) waiting for his turn behind me and one of my Indian colleague warming up his food in the microwave. We are cracking up few jokes, the other Indian guy still look tensed, doesn’t bat an eyelid forget about the smile on the joke ! Just when my colleague is about to finish , I see another of our colleague also Indian rushing towards us, he said he is in such a damn hurry  if we can warm up his food first .While I was thinking to give a response , my other colleague has already allowed him (and I was like Hey !  , it is  my turn what about the guy behind me if he will also allow)  These words never came out of my mouth though! and the other colleague has already put his boxes in the microwave and started warming up his food, so we were now waiting for him to finish, boxes after boxes he kept putting inside ! so he finally finished after 5 minutes  or more!

I took a moment of relief , just at that moment , the other guy behind couldn’t hold his anger anymore , He exploded at my colleague:

‘ You should have some respect for others ! ‘

My colleague “We are all just friends “, and fled the scene with his uncountable boxes of food.

The angry guy : ” I am not your friend ” .

Me (Left abandoned on scene, still have to warm up my food otherwise I would choose to go invisible ) mustered up some courage and spoke: ‘You can warm up your food first, I can wait more ! ‘

The angry guy :  ‘No, its your turn , go ahead’.

Me : ‘ Okay ‘ and starting warming up the food.

The angry guy :’ At least there should be basic manners and etiquette’.

Me: ‘ Relax bro , the basic manners are missing when it comes to Indians vs Indians , Sorry ‘ followed by a nervous laugh.

The angry Guy  , clueless! but  still angry.

Me: fled the scene  with my box too!

I somehow managed to hold my laugh and reach the table where my colleagues were sitting and started laughing there. The guy who caused all the ruckus enjoying somewhere his lunch with his boxes clueless of embarrassment he caused  me !  but anyway as he said we are friends !

 

18 thoughts on “The Lunch Saga

Leave a Reply

